Film: The Fifth Estate

TheFifthEstate

Title: The Fifth Estate
By: Dreamworks
Seen on: November 23

I was proper impressed by The Fifth Estate. Not so much by the story, but we all know what happened without the movie telling us, so that was fine. I was however very impressed by Benedict Cumberbatch and Daniel Bruhl. They are both fantastic in their roles, but Benedict Cumberbatch is simply amazing and electrifying. Apparently his portrayal of Julian Assange was spot on, according to the guys from The Guardian and others that knew Julian Assange.

JulianAssange

There’s been much debate about whether or not this movie portrays Julian Assange’s standpoints and story properly, he certainly doesn’t seem to think so himself, and I don’t have an answer. I can only say that the movie doesn’t take sides, which I appreciated, but a few things did vilify Assange where it didn’t have to. For example, the multiple mentions of the cult Assange grew up in. Yes, it’s a fact and warrants mentioning, but to keep coming back to it to explain Assange’s behavior? Too much.

Then there’s also the Tweets at the end of the movie. Mention them, sure, it happened, but the way they did it was almost vulgar. I didn’t care for it and it broke the character of Assange down for me. Which, for a film that says they don’t take sides on Assange, was a shock to the system after such a fab movie. Disappointing.

Overall, I think the movie was really good, very well done with just a few minor fuck-ups. It has certainly made me think about the issues again, both relative to my personal life and the data I share and my professional life and the data I work with. Assange had a point, but I don’t agree with the way he went about getting it across. However, does anyone have an alternative that gets the same results, but without the terrible downside of murder victims and scandals? I think not. Interesting stuff.

BenedictCumberbatch

The best thing about this film was Benedict Cumberbatch and I hated that it tanked at the box office(s). His performance was strong, entirely believable, and intense. I wish he had gotten more recognition for it.

Rating: 6/10 (the quality of acting bumped it from a 5 to a 6)

Leave a Reply

